He Can Control It Then – Those annoying phrases we parents hear.

We all hear things at times, that annoy us, and part of the reason I called my book he can control it then, was because of just how annoyed I get when I hear it.

Some of the other things I hate hearing are:

“You need to get him under control.”

“You can’t let him keep doing that.”

“That kids going to end up in prison.”

“All he needs is a bit of discipline.”

“I’ll take him and sort him out.”

“That kids a ball and chain around your neck forever.”

“That child’s crazy.”

Or even simply, “That Child!”

And the reason I hate all of these things, is because I know them already! I am more than aware of my child’s faults. I am more than aware of what his future maybe. In fact I am probably more aware than any other person on the planet, because he’s MY child. I don’t want to hear what I already know. I don’t want to hear what I already worry about daily.

When I sit and rant, and I use those words I do it because I need to release those negative thoughts so that I can move on. But that doesn’t mean I want them thrown back in my face when I’m feeling down.

As if I have any control over what he does and when he does it. As if I have a remote control that can make him do as I wish.

All I can do is teach him right from wrong, help him to understand how society works, and hope he makes the right choices. He doesn’t always I know, because he is driven by a different force, he sees a world he wants to be able to integrate with. He just doesn’t know how.

It surprises me that some people can think it’s ok to talk to another in that way. But by now, you’d think I’d have learnt better.

One thought on “He Can Control It Then – Those annoying phrases we parents hear.

Leave a Reply

